June 19, 2011

More Congressmen Sign On to Glass-Steagall

June 16, 2011 (EIRNS)—On June 15, Reps. Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio) and Peter Visclosky (D-Ind.) became the 15th and 16th members of Congress to sign on to Rep. Marcy Kaptur's H.R. 1489, the bill to restore FDR's Glass-Steagall banking principle. Action is still pending in the U.S. Senate, which does not yet have a bill to restore Glass-Steagall before it.

The list of the rest of the sponsors is as follows:

  • Roscoe Bartlett (R-Md.)
  • Walter Jones (R-N.C.)
  • Danny Davis (D-Ill.)
  • Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-Ill.)
  • James Moran (D-Va.)
  • Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.)
  • Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y)
  • Jim McDermott (D-Wash.)
  • Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.)
  • John Conyers (D-Mich.)
  • Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)
  • Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio)
  • Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.)

1 comment:

Al the Electrician said...

Ok time for you to get in the act